INDUSTRY NEWS: Swatch Group announces management changes for brands

There may be fewer releases this year, with many brands deciding to hold back new models until the situation is more stable, but it is by no means a totally quiet period. The Swatch Group has announced changes to its Executive Group Management Board and Extended Group Management Board, and new CEOs for Longines, Rado, Union, Tissot, Certina, and Hamilton. All appointments are internal.

Omega CEO/ President Raynald Aeschlimann, who is a member of the Extended Group Management Board, has been appointed to the Executive Group Management Board.

Matthias Breschan, currently head of Rado and member of the Extended Group Management Board, has been named CEO of Longines. Walter von Känel, after 51 years, has been elected Honorary Chairman of Longines and will remain Chairman of the Longines Foundation.

The head of Hamilton, Sylvain Dolla, will become CEO of Tissot and join Extended Group Management Board. Still at Tissot, François Thiébaud will become Chairman of the Board of Directors. Vivian Stauffer, Hamilton’s Head of Sales, will take over as their new CEO.

Adrian Bosshard, the current CEO of Certina and Union, will move to become the CEO of Rado. Marc Aellen, who has been VP Sales of Jaquet Droz, will be the new Certina CEO. Current head of Mido Franz Linder will also assume the management of Union.

These changes will take effect on July 1, 2020.


[Photo credit: Swatch Group]

Categories: Hamilton, Industry news, Longines, Rado, Switzerland, Tissot, watches


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: